Beauty, Product reviews, Skincare
Comments 6

Sumbody | Save Me, Honey Shower Mask

Skin clearning. Purifying. Calming.

Last year when I went on a weekend getaway to the San Francisco Bay Area, I stumbled upon a natural skincare store and purchased these toner pads. I was also on the lookout for a new mask since I was almost finished with my Tata Harper Exfoliating Mask. I noticed a jar labeled honey shower mask. I was intrigued. So I asked the store clerk exactly how it worked. She explained that it could be used as a mask or face scrub while you’re in the shower. Seems simple enough, right?

 $29.95 large jar (4 oz)DSC_0270

Upon opening the jar, you’re immediately hit with a peculiar scent thanks to the third ingredient, apple cider vinegar. The first ingredient, honey, gives the mask it’s runny consistency. Spread throughout the mask are sea salt granules to give you some exfoliation. However, they are rather sharp edged granules that may sting a little. Due to the obsidian clay and other grainy ingredients there is settling. But that can easily be fixed by mixing the ingredients again until the consistency feels the same throughout.

DSC_0273

DSC_0277

This is part of the Clear Up Line meaning its aimed specifically for those with any acne problems. All of the ingredients listed are perfect for those with a history of breakouts. Activated charcoal to deep clean and purify the pores. Honey and tamanu oil hold anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial, and antibacterial properties. Jojoba oil to moisturize your skin. Widely known in Ayurvedic practices, cinnamon and tumeric are popular kitchen spices for the treatment of breakouts.

Before each use I always stir inside the jar to make sure that all the ingredients mix together and there is no settling. I wash my face with my normal cleanser and then apply the mask. If I use it in the shower then I usually apply it before I hop in and then rinse off a few minutes later. Other times I will use it right after the shower when my pores are open, massage in upward strokes for a couple minutes, and then rinse off. It leaves my face with a moisturized but slightly greasy after feeling.

Ingredients: Honey (Honey fructose), Pacific Sea Salt (Sodium chloride), Apple Cider Vinegar (Pupillam cisere aceto), Obsidian Clay (Obsidianus lapis), Jojoba Oil (Simmondsia chinensis), Tamanu Oil (Calophyl luminophyllum), Bee Pollen (Apis pollin), Tumeric (Curcuma longa), Activated Charcoal (Carbo actoivatus), and Cinnamon (Cinnamomum).

DSC_0282

I honestly didn’t know what to expect when I purchased this. But today, I can say it has surpassed the low expectations I had. It’s not a miracle worker but it does work. When I use this, the next morning my face always looks calm and any pimples I’ve had are reduced. The smell is something I can’t get used to but I can tolerate for the five minutes. If you have problematic skin like myself then I highly encourage you to try this out. It’s not going to make your skin clear but it will help you fight those breakouts.

Would you try this mask?

6 Comments

    • It weirdly works! Lol. They have a website that you can browse through. I’m not sure if they ship internationally but if they do then I encourage you to try them out.

  1. This definitely sparks my interest. As someone with acneic, problem skin, this falls into my category for sure. Especially with my skin being more reactive as of late, this going on my wishlist.

    • Awesome! I’ve only used two of their products but they have been quite effective. Hope to see a review about them in your blog in the future!

Leave a Reply

