Makeup, Product reviews, Skincare
Comments 6

Sodashi | Eye and Lip Cleanser with Chamomile

This gentle cleansing cream removes eye make-up and lipstick and contains plant extracts to nourish and strengthen eye lashes.

Last year when I won a Sodashi Instagram giveaway, I received a clay face cleanser and and an eye/lip cleanser. I’ve used liquid eye makeup removers, natural oils but a cream eye makeup remover was completely new to me. I immediately looked through the website to find out more about this unique product. I was a bit hesitant because I thought it would irritate my eyes but today I’m here to confess my love for this product!

DSC_0350

Sodashi packaging is nothing short of classic. They house their effective products in beautiful violet miron bottles to block all visible spectrum light with the exception of the violet range and infra red. This helps tremendously with protecting the quality and efficacy of ingredients. To my relief, it’s quite sturdy as demonstrated with a few accidental knocks off the bathroom sink. With only 50 mL (1.7 fl oz) of cleanser, the bottle is rather small which makes it perfect for travel. Thankfully, they also have stickers at the bottom of the bottles indicating production and expiration date. If you wear makeup daily then I can see this lasting you between 4-6 months. But if you’re like me then this could very well last you the 2 year shelf life.

It pumps out about a pea size amount of cleanser which is great if you’re solely wearing mascara. However, heavier eye makeup can benefit from a second pump. The cleanser has a thick but silky texture makes for easy application. What gave me love at first try was the non-irritating formulation. It contains some of my favorite oils such as jojoba and macadamia nut. It has chamomile which is well known for it’s calming effects on the senses and for the skin as well. Myrtle hydrosol is one ingredient that I don’t see very much in products. Like chamomile, it’s great for soothing inflamed skin and is perfect for ultra sensitive areas. These two also help in giving the cleanser it’s soft, slightly more chamomile, clean scent.

Brenda-21
Brenda-25

Photos courtesy of Susan DM Photography

Ingredients: aqua (purified water), cetearyl alcohol (plant derived), chamaemelum nobile (chamomile hydrosol), citrus grandis (grapefruit seed extract), macadamia integrifolia (macadamia oil), myrtus communis (myrtle hydrosol), phospholipids, prunus armeniaca (apricot kernel oil), simmondsia chinensis (jojoba oil), tocopherol (vitamin E)

Application is quite simple. Place some cleanser on your finger (I prefer ring) and apply to eye area. Gently massage and concentrate on areas with the most makeup. Damp a cotton pad and wipe all of the cleanser off. The picture above show all my mascara off my eyes and onto the cotton pad.

So far this has taken off natural, non-waterproof mascaras and eyeshadows from Urban Decay’s Naked Palette with ease. I’ve also used it to remove Tarte and Bobbi Brown (waterproof) gel liners. It has worked pretty well considering. I can usually tell there’s still some remnants of the liner clinging around the lash line but with more cleanser and vigorous rubbing I’m always able to get it completely off.

I think the most impressive feature is that I can literally open my eyes with eye shadow, mascara, and cleanser mixed all over and not be on the verge of tears. I’ve never had this happen to me before with eye makeup removers. Before this cleanser, I used either coconut or olive oils to remove the makeup and neither of those were as gentle as this cleanser. I honestly love this stuff!

DSC_0352

I don’t use this on my lips as much as I should. The times that I have used it to remove lipstick it’s been on Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetic Lip Tars. If you’ve ever used lip tars, they’re near impossible to remove but it does help break down some of the lip stain. However, it has done a wonderful job of conditioning my lips. I follow the same application as my eyes and my lips feel soft and smooth.

This definitely files under luxury green beauty. The high quality product doesn’t come without it’s high price tag. At $84 I would be hesitant to purchase something that basic oils can do.  In my genuine opinion this product and it’s brand has shown, for a second time, results that contend with the likes of  Tata Harper/MV Organics lines.

Would you consider buying this fancy eye makeup remover?

6 Comments

  1. What beautiful packaging! I have been using the Elizabeth Dehn For One Love Organics Vitamin B Cleansing Oil & Makeup Remover, but am always cautious using it around my delicate eye area. I think I might give this a try!

    • You definitely need to! I know I haven’t used other natural makeup removers but it doesn’t even matter to me because that’s how much I love this product.

    • You should definitely try out their products! I’ve been pleasantly surprised with the products and i want to try more. Unfortunately, they are on the high-end of the price spectrum so this is one of those splurge buy like Tata Harper. I hope to see a review on one of their products on your blog in the future!

  2. Umm, this sounds amazing! I’m trying out a BWC eye makeup remover but I’m finding it’s taking too much rubbing with a cotton pad to remove my most basic makeup. Pinning this for a future buy. 🙂

    • Please keep me posted when you buy and try this. I really love this eye makeup remover! The best part for me is that it’s non-irritating on my eyes.

Leave a Reply

