Beauty, Haircare, Product reviews
Comments 5

Sukin | Protein Hair Treatment

As I was walking around a random pharmacy store in Port Douglas, Australia, I came across an aisle full of natural skincare products. I got really excited when I saw Sukin products on the shelves because this was one of many brands that I was looking for! I didn’t need to buy anything in particular because I had all my skincare covered. So in the end, I walked away with a hair product.

DSC_0792In an effort to restore my damaged ends, I’ve been using it as a weekly hair mask. After showering, I gently pat my hair dry. I scoop out a dollop of the deep conditioner and start applying it to the bottom half of my hair. I clip my hair up and allow it to deeply moisturize my hair for 15-20 minutes.

The yummy smells of tangerine peel oil, mandarin orange peel oil, lavender oil, and vanilla extract are soft and quite soothing. It’s thick consistency is easy to work with as it glides throughout my hair. As I start washing it out, it leaves my hair feeling considerably soft but then it goes back to it’s normal hay-like feel.

DSC_0781The ingredients are, for the most part, clean. It contains hydrolyzed wheat protein to fortify hair. There is also sesame seed oil to deeply nourish and promote healthy strands. It doesn’t contain parabens, however, it does contain the ever popular preservative, phenoxyethanol. In most products I purchase I try my hardest to avoid this ingredient. The list of nasty ingredients that it doesn’t contain really helped reassure this purchase.

DSC_0783

DSC_0794With my hair having a plethora of hair problems, it’s been a great addition to my weekly beauty routine. The fact that this conditioner doesn’t last long in my hair makes this purchase a bit of a dud. Thankfully this was inexpensive for less than $10 a jar. Perhaps this is what’s expected with natural hair products? I’m not sure if this is repurchase worthy. I would buy it again if, and only if, there weren’t any other natural hair masks out there. Also with my new eco hairdresser, she has convinced me to apply oil in my hair.

What are your thoughts on hair masks?

5 Comments

  1. highly recommend trying Max Green Alchemy. While a bit pricier, they are so worth it. Their hair care is amazing!

  2. I have curly dry hair and used to use a multitude of different products to try and control it. Now I swap between using 100% pure Argan oil (make sure it’s 100% pure and not loaded with all the other crap) Virgin coconut oil and pure unrefined Shea butter. I just put a little in the palm of my hand and disperse through damp hair after I get out of the shower…they all work really well and has improved the condition of my hair a lot. You can pay particular attention to your ends. Another thing is doing an apple cider vinegar rinse at the end of your wash. It makes your hair super soft, shiny and more manageable. I generally dilute half half with water and add a few drops off essential oil to mask the vinegar smell. Hope this helps 🙂 x

    • Thank you for the tips, Natalie! I apply oil to my ends now with a brand from France. It’s main ingredient is argan oil. I’ve seen DIY recipes on ACV hair rinses but I’m a bit hesitant to try it out. I’ve used ACV/water toners and the smell is just too much no matter how diluted. Does the smell stay in the hair?

  3. Pingback: Kaé Argantherapie | Repairing Hair Serum | The Wanderlusting Beauty

Leave a Reply

