Beauty, Makeup, Product reviews
Comments 6

Alima Pure | Natural Definition Mascara

When it was time to move on from this mascara I was having a hard time choosing my next purchase. Naturally I wanted to try Kjaer Weis’ popular refillable mascara but shelling out nearly $40 was just not in my budget at the time. Alima Pure has great reputation with many beauty bloggers for their mineral makeup so I decided to give their mascara a try.

DSC_0255

The packaging comes in your standard mascara tube with a cute design printed on it. The bristles on the wand are hard plastic and spread a bit far apart. There really is no smell to it which is nice (I hate mascaras with a strong smell). The mascara formulation is a bit wet and heavy. What do I mean by heavy? Continue reading.

When I apply the mascara, I start to lose my curl and my lashes become stick straight which leads to re-curling. However, if I don’t give the mascara time to dry then the it gets built up on the eyelash curler when I re-curl. That leads to a big waste in product as hardly any of it is lashes. There is no no flaking, which is nice, but a few hours into it I notice a black shadowy line under my lower lashes forming. Thankfully it removes effortlessly with a damp paper towel.

DSC_0259Β Ingredients: Aqua, Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Lanolin, Stearic Acid, Cera Alba, Euphorbia Cerifera, Sodium Carboxyethylsilanetriol, Cetyl Alcohol, Propanediol, Sodium Hydroxide, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Ozokerite, Glycerin, Panthenol, Biotinoyl Tripeptide-1, Copernicia Cerifera, Glyceryl Caprylate, Glyceryl Undecylenate. [+/-: (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)].

DSC_0296

I’m also not a big fan of the wand. It makes it a little hard to get the smaller or edge lashes without smudging the mascara on my face. But not everything about this mascara is bad. It is buildable and will really give your lashes nice definition for those evenings out. I used this on my trip to Las VegasΒ and it surprisingly upheld with the heat. So perhaps this works better in drier environments?

So as you can tell this one is not a winner for me. While it can give your lashes nice definition, the formulation is not to my liking. Re-curling so many times is just too rough on my lashes and I try to be as gentle as possible. I think those that have a strong natural curl in their lashes would find this mascara a nice all natural alternative to mainstream ones. But now that my 3 months are over, it’s onto the next one!

Have you used Alima Pure’s mascara?

 

6 Comments

  1. This one wasn’t a winner for me either. It did give great lash definition like you said, but I really didn’t like the brush and the reoccurring smudgy, raccoon eye effect was a definite negative. You lashes look awesome in the picture though! πŸ™‚ I’d recommend shelling out the dough for Kjaer Weis…I caved and it’s pretty great. The W3LL People mascara is calling my name next…

    • Thank you Kasey! My eyes look great because that was within the first hour of application. Haha. Later on that day they started to run. I’m really trying to hold off on buying the KW mascara because I want to get through some of the cheaper ones first. But I’m glad to know it’s working out for you because that probably means it’ll work out for me too!

  2. kimberlyloc says

    Didn’t work for me, either! I’m seeing an Asian trend line here πŸ™‚ I’m going to try Kjaer Weis and W3ll People next. I just kind of hate shelling out money for products that I feel like are going to fail me 85% of the time. Mascara is hard!

Leave a Reply

