Beauty, Haircare, Product reviews
Comments 10

Aesop | Nurturing Shampoo + Conditioner

Oddly enough, one of my must-see places while I was visiting Australia was an Aesop store. What am I saying? That’s not odd when you are a beauty blogger, right? I didn’t want to go to just any store; I was on a mission to see the first flagship store in St. Kilda, the bayside community of Melbourne.  I didn’t really have a shopping list prepared but new I was going to buy haircare products at the very least. After a talk with the store clerk, I walked away with 4 products and $100 poorer.

A unique feature to each store is that they are designed by architects and/or designers. Each Aesop store is designed differently by incorporating a sustainable-designed concept to each location. In St. Kilda, what was once a walkway to underground car park is now the first designer Aesop store!

DSC_0661DSC_0670After some consideration, I walked out with the Nurturing shampoo + conditioner for my damaged locks. It seemed like the right choice for San Diego’s hard tap water and my dry scalp. The packaging is nothing particularly special but the plastic, amber tinted bottles do bring on an apothecary-type of look. I do like the labeling as it highlights key ingredients in the product and explains the function.

This hydrating and nourishing treatment cleanses and tames belligerent hair to leave it glossy, moisturised and remarkably soft.

$29 per bottle (6.8 fl oz)

DSC_0742

I quickly realized that the ingredients are not as clean as I initially thought. Further research into the brand lead me to the knowledge that they combine powerful plant ingredients with lab-produced chemicals. Very Aveda-esque in my opinion. The texture of both products is smooth. The shampoo is opaque  and creates a light lather. The conditioner is creamy but I found it difficult to spread it all over my ends.

The smell is a medley of herbal and sweet that I don’t hate but I’m not in love with either. The shampoo has a predominant lavender and rosemary fragrance, lightly boosted with menthol extract, and trailed by sweet uplifting notes of grapeseed and tangerine oils. The conditioner has a more subtle tone to it’s smell – a softer peppermint mixed with tangerine oils.

DSC_0749-001Shampoo Ingredients: Water, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Sea Salt (Maris sal), Cocomide MEA, Phenoxyethanol, Borago Officinalis Seed Oil, Citric Acid, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Disodium EDTA, Tocopherol, Mentha Citrata Leaf Extract, Guar Hydroypropyltrimonium Chloride, Benzoic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Ethylhexylglycerin, d-Limonene, Linalool

DSC_0754-001Conditioner Ingredients: Water, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Oil, Glycerin, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, C 12-16 Alcohols, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearalonium Chloride, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Laandula Angustifulia (Lavender) Oil, Foeniculum Vulgare (Fennel) Oil, Mentha Piperita (Pepprmint) Oil, Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Oil, Disodium EDTA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Root Extract, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Beta-Carotene, Methylisothiazolinone, d-Limonene, Linalool

I purchased these hoping they would heal my scalp and revive my hair from my disaster with another all-natural shampoo.  While the shampoo did make my scalp feel a little less itchy there just was no “wow” factor for me. The conditioner was the most frustrating because it was so difficult to tell if it spread throughout the bottom half of my hair. It left my hair feeling initially silky but then went back to feeling like hay after it all washed out. Both products performed as described but not in any extraordinary way to warrant a repurchase. Looks like the hunt continues.

What do you think of Aesop and their products? 

10 Comments

    • Thank you! It’s very deceiving to see “natural” or “organic” on the labels and later find out they it’s not completely true. But it’s ok, I still liked trying this out and at least this gives my readers a cleaner alternative to mainstream products.

  1. Loved taking a peek inside the store! I had no idea Aesop also carried hair products. Bummer that they didn’t turn out to be anything special. The product design just sucks me in everytime! I have a pack of Aesop samples I’ve still yet to try from my trip to their store in London. Definitely curious about their skincare products!

    • Going into the store was pretty cool. I really want to visit the other flagship stores. They gave me lots of samples too and they’ve come in handy on my trips. Have you had the chance to try the samples out now?

  2. Thanks for the review! I used a natural shampoo also and it made my scalp so freaking itchy, it’s ridiculous. I love Aesop’s skin care; I use the parsley seed masque and the anti-oxidant serum.

    • Do you mind if I ask which shampoo that you used? I’ve tried the B Triple C Balancing Gel and I was pleasantly surprised how well it worked. I was given lots of samples by the clerk. How is the serum?

  3. can totally relate to hair disappointment when it comes to natural haircare. I recommend trying Max Green Alchemy. They have lovely hair products that actually lather and smell lovely. They’re great products and I’ve used them several yrs now. You can see a review for them here > http://storybookapothecary.com/get-naturally-shiny-voluminous-hair-with-max-green-alchemy/

    Rahua hair is another good one, but the shampoo doesn’t smell as nice as the MGA line and the lather leaves something to be desired.

    • Thank you for the recommendation, Tianna! I actually love Rahua’s products but i’ve only tried the travel sizes. But if Max Green smells better then I’ll have to definitely try it out!

  4. Laura says

    I like aesop, though you are right, they are not super clean (the shampoo also contains sulfates). What i like is that they omit the silicones. For haircare, I like acure, john masters, less is more. Have you tried them?

Leave a Reply

