Haircare, Product reviews, Quarterly Co.
Comments 4

Quarterly Co. | #NDL09 featuring Rahua, Lulu Organics, and Olivia Garden

Towards the end of last year, Quarterly sent an email stating that they were going to raise their subscription prices from $25 to $50. When I saw that, I talked to my friend who introduced me to Quarterly and asked if she was going to keep on with it. Their past couple boxes (here and here) had been a little underwhelming. So doubling the rate left us both very reluctant with continuing the subscription and, in fact, my friend decided to not pay for the next quarter; however, I did. I wanted to give Quarterly and No More Dirty Looks one more chance and if I didn’t like their first package for the new year then I would simply unsubscribe.

NDL09 BOXLucky for them I was extremely happy with this quarter’s picks. The first box for 2014 is all about hair. It came complete with staples like shampoos, conditioners, and a luxurious bamboo paddle brush. Had they added a hair oil this box would have been perfect. Regardless, I was still extremely happy with what they boxed up. I definitely got my money’s worth with the total retail value just over $50.

Olivia Garden Large Ionic Paddle Hairbrush

NDL09 Hairbrush This massaging paddle brush is probably my favorite item. I had never heard of this brand before and was very excited to learn more about it. This large sized brush is made out of bamboo which makes it very sturdy and lightweight. The ion-charged tips help keep the hair healthy and anti-static. The massaging tips also feel relaxing and gentle on my head.

Rahua Jet Setter Kit

DSC_0174.NEF

Rahua Haircare has been on my radar for a long time now. I first used this travel size on my trip to Australia. Don’t ask me why I haven’t committed to full size yet. I absolutely adore this brand. My hair feels healthier. My scalps is balanced. I couldn’t ask for anything more. These have been staples in my travel kits here, here, and here.


Lulu Organics Hair Powder in Lavender + Clary SageDSC_0171.NEF

Ever since the craze of dry shampoos came several years ago, I was always interested but never enough to actually purchase one. So you can imagine how excited I was to see this in the box. But after this 3 month trial I’m happy I’ve yet to purchase one. As my first dry shampoo I’m still trying to get the hang of it. The smell is great if you like lavender which I do. However, the oil absorbing feature has yet to completely win me over but I think it’s because I haven’t perfected on using it. I have so much thick hair and have been finding it difficult to get it all over. So I’ll have to say this is my least favorite item but that’s only because I’m new to the world of dry shampoo.

What do you think of the items in this latest quarterly box? 

4 Comments

  1. What a great box! I would love to subscribe to something like this but I have too many allergies 😦

Leave a Reply

