Beauty, Makeup, Product reviews
Comments 7

100% Pure | Fruit Pigmented Mascara

When it comes to makeup I’m no good. My skills, if they can even be called that, are quite simple. So I naturally keep my makeup stash small with basics like red lipstick, foundation, and concealer. Mascara is one item that I always have. The beauty gods have graciously blessed me with lashes long enough to curl and so I like to enhance them. The timing couldn’t have been more perfect when a close friend gifted me with the 100% Pure fruit pigmented mascara just as I was finishing the Tarte lights, camera, splashes waterproof mascara.

$18 per tube (0.24 oz)

DSC_0846-001

This mascara comes in 4 colors and thankfully I received black tea (black). Other colors include dark chocolate (brown), blackberry (purple), and blueberry (blue) and each are colored using pigments from black tea and berries. This 100% natural mascara also boasts an ingredients list that is nothing short of amazing. All of the ingredient have an EWG rating of 0 or 1 (I literally checked). So be rest assured that those precious eyes won’t be irritated with nasty chemicals. Also packed inside are hair and skin conditioning agents such as hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed oat protein, pro-vitamin b5, and vitamin e. It will lengthen, separate, and thicken lashes. The formulation is not too wet or dry. The way it applies is so smooth and doesn’t clump! It reminds me a lot of Clinique’s old Long Lash mascara that was once a favorite of mine.

It gives me just enough coverage to enhance the lashes without looking overly done. It’s also quite gentle and doesn’t give me any eye irritation. In the pictures below I applied one coat. I don’t usually put any mascara on my bottom lashes but did it for the sake of the pictures. For the first time, I actually like the packaging from 100% Pure! The silver tube is designed with a leaf-ivy etched effect that I think is just adorable. The smell is incredible! I’ve never had mascara that smelled so lovely and sweet.

mascaracollage

The wand is on the fatter side and doesn’t have much contour making it quite average. I don’t mind the wand but if you have shorter lashes then you might not appreciate this. The tip of the wand can be used for the little lashes but, personally, I don’t. The description on the website also lists that this is water and smudge resistant. Unfortunately that is not the case for me.  For as long as I can remember, I’ve always had issues with mascaras that are non-waterproof. I experience a bit of flaking and/or raccoon eyes a few hours into wearing it (far right picture). That results into me getting a damp paper towel to wipe away the makeup. Serious bummer but, like I said before, I always experience this. If your eye area leans towards oily then please be aware.

DSC_0851

Overall, I really like this product. I simply cannot get over the smell! Even though I have plenty more natural mascaras to try out, I’m really pleased that this was my first one. I think it performs as promised giving me beautiful, long, natural looking lashes. I also believe the price point to be very reasonable compared to other green makeup brands that sell their mascaras for over $20. The ingredients are 100% natural and vegan but sadly doesn’t contain anything organic or wildcrafted. No biggie in my book because at least the list is not complicated. They have a 30 day return policy so if you’re running low on mascara and need to try something new then do check this out!

7 Comments

  1. Ooh I’m always interested in mascaras that are good for your lashes. I think in the future that’s one of the biggest areas brands should work on – makeup that has skincare benefits. But at least that doesn’t HARM skin, which can’t be said about all brands. Anyway this brush looks great! Personally I don’t mind if it’s not waterproof on a typical day, though it would be nice if it lived up to that claim, since they did make it.

    • Yes, the ingredients list is quite impressive! I’m interested in trying the brown colored mascara. But with the smudging and run-off I’m afraid it’ll make my under eyes really dark.

  2. Thanks for this review , I been eye this product but due to much fail in mascaras it looks like this one would be no different as i have oliy eyes . Thankful just like you I am bless with long thigh lashes 🙂 . So mascara is not a important item in my basic makeup bag.

  3. Laura says

    Nice review! Have you tried kjaer weis? It is my fave! Lengthening and thickening and no smudging. So good! Ilia’s is also not bad.

    • Thank you, Laura! I have not tried Kjaer Weis yet because I’m kinda holding out on buying it. I want to test others first because I’m sure that once I test KW, I won’t want to try anything else. Haha.

  4. Pingback: Alima Pure | Natural Definition Mascara | The Wanderlusting Beauty

Leave a Reply

