Beauty, Product reviews, Skincare
Comments 12

Sodashi | Clay Cleanser with Lime

Almost 3 months ago I entered the Sodashi giveaway on Instagram (follow me and Sodashi) by simply answering their question.

S: Tell us your skintype & what colour clay Sodashi uses in it’s cleansers.
WB: KAOLIN (white clay)! My skin type is normo/combo! Is this open only to Australian residents or is it available to outside residents as well? Appreciate the giveaway! Hope to everything that I win!

Well looks like my prayers were answered because several days later I was tagged as one of the winners! I was so ecstatic that I actually jumped for joy while holding The Mister’s hands. In return he was happy because that meant I saved myself (or us, OK, him) money.

$72 per bottle ( 200 mL / 6.8 fl oz)

DSC_0707-001

When I received a package from Australia a couple weeks later I immediately pulled out my box knife and hacked away at the tape. I was so delighted to have full size products in my possession! Packaged in a plain white box with black simple lettering, the product is housed in a beautiful miron glass bottle with white lettering. Very yin + yang with an elegant look. To keep true to the eco-friendly world, the box and bottle are both recyclable and use natural vegetable dyes to print onto the box. The bottle itself feels quite weighty and you can instantly tell that the glass is thick. So an accidental knock-over on the bathroom sink isn’t going to make this quality bottle shatter so easily.

IG

This deep cleansing emulsion dissolves make-up, impurities and excess oil. Balances oil secretion and leaves the skin feeling fresh and deeply cleansed.

When I started using the cleanser, I was slightly concerned of it’s creamy consistency. As autumn was approaching I knew a cream cleanser would be perfect for my dry cheeks but my concern lied on my moderate breakouts. Every morning and night I dispense 1 pump onto my fingers and massage it onto my face.  The light lime scent is sweet and not overbearing. When I rinse it off my face is left hydrated, soft, clean, and refreshed! Adding to the soft description, it actually makes my face feel a little buttery. It does dissipate after several minutes but I don’t want to confuse it with greasy.

I’m sure this clean but buttery after feeling has much to do with the ingredients. After some research, I was pleasantly surprised to read that many of the ingredients help tremendously with problematic skin.

  • Macadamia integrifolia (macadamia oil) – contains palmitoleic acid (anti-aging), oleic acid (moisturizing and regenerative), and linoleic acid (aids in natural moisture retention). Helps reduce inflammation and and itchiness.
  • Prunus armeniaca (apricot kernel oil) – awesome moisturizing benefits especially for balanced, oily, and hormonal reactive skin. Contains gamma linoleic acid which aids in toning and firming skin.
  • Kaolin (white clay) – detoxifies and extracts impurities. White clay particularly nourishes, moisturizes, and balances combination skin.
  • Simmondsia chinensis (jojoba oil)* – moisturizing and anti-inflammatory properties
  • Citrus aurantifolia (lime)* – wonderful antioxidant. Citric acid aids in gently sloughing off dead skin cells revealing clearer and radiant skin.
    *organic

DSC_0711-001

I have used this with makeup on to see how well it dissolves the makeup. I don’t think it does that great of a job of doing so just by rinsing it off with water. I’m sure a warm wash cloth would do the  job. But with winter underway, I try to be gentle on my face as much as possible. Regardless, I believe proper makeup removal prior to face cleanser is a necessary step.

I’ve really come to enjoy this cleanser.  It’s been a wonderful addition to my winter skincare routine. The moisturizing properties work wonderfully for my skin as the winter dehydrates it. I don’t usually wash my face with a cleanser twice a day but it’s been so gentle, calming, and refreshing. If you’ve been hesitant on purchasing something from this brand – don’t. The price is a bit steep but this brand on par with top American luxury eco brands like Tata Harper and May Lindstrom. The TH Regenerating Cleanser is $75 for only 125 mL in a squeezable plastic tube. Sodashi is a few bucks cheaper, you get more product, and it comes in a glass bottle that can be repurposed. It’s an investment that your skin and health will thank you tenfold.

DSC_0704-001

Have you used this cleanser? What do you think of Sodashi products? Comment below. I’d love to hear from you!

12 Comments

  1. Yay for winning this gorgeous looking cleanser! I have never tried it but your review makes me want to. The only concern is that it may not be so thorough at removing makeup. That’s a must. I prefer a one step cleanse rather than dual-phased cleansing though I do that too sometimes. I love the research that you did on the ingredients and that you included it here. Great post! XO

    • Thank you, Sarita!!! I’m slowly learning on ways to improve my posts and I’m glad the background information helped out. Liked I said, it doesn’t break down the makeup when simply rinsing with water. A warm damp towel will certainly do the trick but I have yet to do that myself. Hhmm…perhaps I’ll have to try it one of these days and do a little edit to the post. Thank you for inspiring me!

    • Thank you for stopping by my blog! I’m so thrilled you found me. We are a small community and it’s nice to connect with women who are environmentally and health conscious. I’m loving your blog as well. The looks you create are beautiful!

  2. I’ve never heard of Sodashi before. I have to say most of the Australian eco-brands I’ve tried are pretty good. Antipodes is another Australian eco-skincare line.

    • I thought Antipodes is a Kiwi line? I did see the brand on my travels to Australia but I held off on purchasing anything because I thought it originated from New Zealand. (I plan to travel there one day and wanted to wait till I did to purchase brands from there). Sodashi is proving to be quite an effective eco-beauty line and I’m really impressed with it thus far.

  3. Guilly says

    I’ve been using Sodashi for quite a while now and love every product I’ve purchased. I have tried everything, believe me and this line is the best, especially for my ‘aging’ skin.

    • That is so exciting for me to hear. Thank you! I’m really interested in the other products. Have you tried the exfoliating face concentrates?

  4. Juliet says

    I’ve never heard of this line, but after reading this I really want to try this cleanser. With clay and lime, you would expect it to be stripping, not moisturizing! That price though! Makes me feel good about my $52 bottle of Halcyon! haha!

    • I’m sorry for my late reply, Juliet! I’m currently using Yuli Halcyon cleanser and I have to confess that I still long for this cleanser. If the price puts you off from buying it then I completely understand but if you ever get the chance to sample it then do it. Thank you so much for stopping by my lil blog! 😀

  5. Pingback: Skincare Ritual | Winter 2013 | The Wanderlusting Beauty

  6. Pingback: Sodashi | Eye and Lip Cleanser with Chamomile | The Wanderlusting Beauty

Leave a Reply

