Beauty, Haircare, Product reviews
Comments 6

100% Pure | Burdock + Neem Healthy Scalp Shampoo

Treats your scalp – will purify, unclog pores, stimulate circulation and help alleviate dryness, itching and flaking. Treats your hair – hydrating formula makes hair healthy, nourished and vibrant. Gentle enough for color treated and all hair types. All natural formula does not contain synthetic chemicals, artificial fragrances, chemical preservatives, sulfates, detergents or any other harsh ingredients that can strip or dehydrate.

Hallelujah, my prayers have been answered! If you recall, my disastrous experience with Yarok’s shampoo left my scalp quite scarred. I was in dire need of something quick and healing for my dry scalp, itchiness, and dandruff. I was at my wits end with the shampoo but didn’t know what natural shampoo to use next. As I was repurchasing a conditioner from 100% Pure I decided to check out their shampoos as well. Their Burdock & Neem shampoo caught my immediate attention when I saw healthy scalp included in the title.  I added it into my cart and patiently waited for the package to arrive.

$18 per bottle (8 fl oz)

DSC_0097

The day I received it I used it that same night. I wasn’t particularly impressed with the packaging – a big squeezable plastic tube. Not entirely eco-friendly but at least BPA and phthalate free. The shampoo is colorless and its consistency is quite thin making it light but runny (click on pictures below to see a closer view). The smell isn’t overpowering but you will definitely smell notes of peppermint, eucalyptus, and tea tree. Keeping to the brand’s philosophy it is vegan, cruelty free, and gluten free. It also must be used within 6 months which shouldn’t be a problem. I have now been using this product for 3 months and nearly done with it. I officially love this stuff! Seriously, this shampoo saved my scalp.

DSC_0098

The lather is perfect and plenty. I use just little over a quarter sized dollop and it gives me enough coverage for my scalp. I let the suds run down to my ends and it always feels squeaky clean without stripping. The smell is not my favorite but it’s very fresh and cleansing. It always makes me feel like I’m starting new. The smell also doesn’t linger strongly in my hair which is a relief. I had no idea the mister was using the shampoo until he mentioned how he liked the smell one day! So I guess you can add a check mark to the ‘guy approved’ column as well.

DSC_0099

It didn’t give me immediate results but I wasn’t expecting that. I knew reversing the damage done was going to take time. I would say that the first issue this shampoo fixed was the dry scalp which then fixed the dandruff. I was still itching my head here and there but at least I wasn’t having embarrassing scalp snow coming out of my hair. I feel like I can’t express enough how grateful I am for this product. With each wash it leaves my scalp feeling balanced and my hair beautifully clean.

Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe) Leaf Juice*, Rosa Centifolia Flower Water (Organic Rose Hydrosol)*, Sodium Cocoate (Saponified Coconut) Oil, Vegetarian Glycerin, Extracts of Melia Azadirachta (Neem), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root and Fucus Vesiculosus (Kelp), Vegetal Cellulose, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Panthenol, Extracts of Camellia Sinensis (Organic Green Tea) Leaf*, Urtica Dioica (Nettle), Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf and Calendula Officinalis (Calendula) Flower, Cocos Nucifera (Virgin Coconut) Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Leaf Extract, Salt (French Sea Salt), Extracts of Origanum Vulgare (Oregano) Leaf, Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme) Flower/ Leaf and Lonicera Caprifolium (Japanese Honeysuckle), Eucalyptus Globulus (Eucalyptus) Leaf Essential Oil, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Essential Oil
* Certified Organic

I have used several different natural shampoos since starting my green journey – Intelligent Nutrients, Acure Organics, and John Masters Organics just to name a few. I’ve liked them but not enough for a repurchase. That is until I found 100% Pure. This one is now running at first place. I definitely feel like I get my money’s worth. I do, however, have one small gripe. It’s the packaging. Because the consistency is thin, the product comes out of the tube quite easily. it’s hard to control how much you use when it’s runny and comes out of a tube that points downward. There have been a several incidences where I barely squeeze the tube and so much product comes out. Or I’ll just open the top and product will start running down immediately, land on the bottom of the tub, and there I am wasting product. I think a pump bottle would be much better. Other than that I can’t find any other thing wrong with it. I definitely want to try their other shampoo products and can’t wait. Have you tried this shampoo or others from the brand? Comment below! I’d love to hear from you!

6 Comments

  1. Ate Sha says

    It must be the Quebec gene cause I have the same same problem! Although, I did recognize that my scalp was drier during different times of the year as well as just before my “cycle” (weird). How long before you saw an improvement?

    • I would probably say about 1-2 months before my scalp felt normal again. I’ve been getting into applying oils to my scalp and hair masks and they have helped tremendously with irritation. There’s a couple of flagship stores in the Bay Area. You should check them out, Ate Sha!

  2. Great post! I’m actually getting ready to review 100% Pure’s Volumizing Shampoo & Conditioner on my blog… I have fine hair and it def helps, it’s my new fav!! It looks like my shampoo is much less runny that yours, but it’s not super thick either. Perhaps its just the Health Scalp version.

  3. oooh i was researching this one and I’m glad I found an honest review! I’ll have to try it!

    • Thank you so much, Jane! I’m sorry for the late reply. Have you tried the shampoo? If so, how did it work out for you?

Leave a Reply

