Beauty, Product reviews
Comments 5

Coola Suncare | Mineral Face SPF 20 Rose Essence Tint

In a few weeks I’ll be on a much anticipated vacation with a couple friends to the land known for its sunny skies, unique creatures, and sizable reef. That’s right, I’ll be in Australia! This country has been on the top of my travel list since I can remember. Not only is the accent oh so sexy but I’m big water person and I can’t wait to explore the Great Barrier Reef. Although we are transitioning into the autumn season in America, the Aussies are already enjoying warmer weather with their spring season underway. As I’ve been checking the weather forecast for Sydney (my first stop) I’ve been seeing a rise in temperatures. I’ll be experiencing quite warms days (80 F / 25 C) and so SPF is one toiletry I will not forget to pack.

$36 per tube (1.7 oz / 50 mL)

DSC_0053-001

All summer long I’ve been quite serious with myself on applying SPF. The face products from COOLA have been on my radar for a long time and so I finally decided to give it a try this year. I chose this particular face moisturizer for two reasons: 1) it was on sale on drugstore.com and 2) it is mattifying. During the summer I tend to lean towards an oilier complexion and like any one else I hate it. When I first received it, I didn’t use it just by itself. I had been using the Suntegrity BB Cream but found it too oily during the summer and so I had the brilliant idea to mix the two moisturizers together. It was the perfect combination for me. I had a nice luminous, even glow from Suntegrity with the oiliness controlled by Coola. Once my Suntegrity tube ran out, I stuck strictly with Coola. Overall, my feelings for this particular product are a bit mixed. So let’s start with the outside and work in.

The packaging is great – recyclable material with eye-catching, fun colors. However, I’m not a big fan of this particular pump. It states on the packaging to “pump down →”. At first I didn’t see this warning and was pumping like anyone else would – with the pump facing upward just like the picture below. And then one day the pump spit out the moisturizer making a mess all over my hand and floor. I’m lucky it didn’t make it onto my shirt because I would have been mad. So now, to avoid making a mess, I shake all the product downward and squirt the product out with the pump downward as well. The size of the tube is the perfect travel size with the length less than the length of my small hand. And with each tube holding less than 2 ounces of product, it’s TSA approved.

collage

Their ingredients list is not entirely complicated. It is a sunscreen so there are many ingredients on the list that seem like they’re synthetic. However, Coola products actually contain certified organic ingredients up to 97%. That’s incredible! Even better is that they don’t use nano-particles. One of the best (and coolest) aspects of this particular moisturizer is that it’s reef safe making it the perfect sun protection for my upcoming trip. Not only are you getting sun protection but environmental protection as well. This will also last you quite a while. I’m currently on month 4 of use and I still have probably half of the tube to still go through. The product must be completely used within 18 months which will definitely won’t be a problem for me.

Organic Ingredients: Cucumber Fruit Extract, Glycerin, Linseed Seed Oil, Orange Fruit Water, Safflower Seed Oil, Sunflower Seed Extract

Active Ingredient: Titanium Dioxide 4.2%

DSC_0046The product applies flawlessly and incredibly easy. There is no greasy after feel and it’s consistency is very light. Even though the tint is lighter than my skin tone (see picture above) it’s quite sheer and seems to warm up after several minutes. However, I do wonder how it applies for those with a darker complexion than my own. There is no option for a lighter or darker tint, unfortunately. The mattifying effect is pretty true to word. During the summer I definitely wasn’t greasy by the end of the day but I think it was just a little too drying for my skin. So for those of you with truly oily skin this will be your savior during the summer. The company suggests to reapply the moisturizer every two hours or 40 minutes after frolicking in the water. However, because it’s so mattifying, I was always hesitant to reapply for fear that it would dry me out further. I did always reapply after water activity or sweating but if I was just sitting at my cubicle then I didn’t bother. Many reviewers suggest that it’s also great as a primer but I don’t agree. I can’t explain why but I do feel that Suntegrity is a much better moisturizing SPF primer. Lastly, Coola is pretty good with making their products smell beautifully but I hardly ever smell the rose essence. I’m not a big rose person anyways, so it’s not a big deal, but I do love their citrus mimosa and plumeria smells. I hope in the future they make a face sunscreen containing those smells.

So as you could tell, my feelings were quite mixed. I would say that this product was just above the average line but the eco-friendly aspect of it truly does impress me. Coola originated in San Diego and so you know I love to support local companies as much as I can. If you have are more on the oily side then I think that you should definitely try this product out. Dry and normal skin types might want to hold out or mix it with something more moisturizing like I did.

Have you used this product or any of the other mineral face sunscreens? 

5 Comments

  1. Great post! I absolutely love their line!! I was wondering about the “reef compatibility” of their sunscreens. Does this apply to just the mineral face sunscreen? Or does it apply to the entire line? I’ve tried to do my research, but was unable to come up with a clear answer.

    • Thanks guh!!! If you’re on their website and click on the individual proucts, it’ll tell you which ones are “reef friendly”. It looks like all the face sunscreens are but not the body ones. It also doesn’t give an explanation of exactly what reef friendly means which is a bummer.

  2. I’ve been wanting to try Coola products and I might have to put this on my summer wishlist! Great review. Hope you enjoy Australia! I’ve nominated your blog for a Liebster Award, you can check out my post on my blog for details if you’re interested. 🙂 -Kasey

    • Thank you so much, Kasey, and even more so for the Liebster Award nomination! I think Coola is one brand every eco-beauty enthusiast should try. It’s truly a great brand. I’ll definitely enjoy Australia to the fullest! I’ll have lots of posts for my trip in several weeks. I’ll keep you updated!

  3. Pingback: Skincare Ritual | Winter 2013 | The Wanderlusting Beauty

Leave a Reply

