Beauty, Finds on Etsy, Product reviews, Skincare
Comments 3

The Clean Soap Company | Soap Bars

I have made it a point to choose organic ingredients and recyclable material whenever possible and have fostered amazing relationships with my small family run suppliers here in the USA who share the same passion of promoting sustainable healthy choices.  ​​Organic production fosters cycling of resources, promotes ecological balance and conserves biodiversity​.​​​​

I have a confession to make – I’m a huge sucker for artisanal soap. I don’t know why but I love purchasing soap handmade with love. There are so many combinations of scents and ingredients that can be used in soap – the possibilities are endless! So when it was time for me to find a new soap to test, I had the brilliant idea to search on Etsy (this also gave me the idea to start a new post series called Finds on Etsy). That’s when I stumbled across The Clean Soap Company.  Their philosophy was pretty simple and straightforward…

$19.50 (single bar originally $6)

DSC_0085Their soaps do not contain SLS, phthalates, parabens, propylene glycol, benzene, or tricolsans. They are vegan approved, cruelty free and use oils that are fair trade, sustainable, and organic. Did I mention handmade? An added bonus for me is the fact that they are made in Los Angeles which is a 2-hour drive up I-5. I love it when I can support local artists.  I had the hardest time choosing just one bar out of the lot. They had the most enticing scent combinations – big sur, tropical ginger lime, pear & redwood tres leches, spice cake. Now you may call me crazy for believing so much in a product that I’ve never tried before but I did. Instead of choosing one I decided to get their four pack that included their most popular bars. By doing so I saved myself about $1.10 per bar. Not a crazy amount of money but savings nonetheless.

Shipment was quick and I received the soaps only a few days after I placed my order. As soon as I opened the box the smell was incredible. Notes of lavender, orange, and ginger were filling my senses. Choosing a bar to start off with was one of the hardest parts, however, I decided to use the lavender soap first. I had a bad allergic skin reaction to something and thought it best to use that bar for it’s naturally calming affects.

DSC_0077Simply Orange
Simply the Best. Sweet, mellow and pleasant.Orange essential oil know as a stress reliever and helps promote production of collagen in turn giving us smoother skin.
Ingredients: saponified organic oils (palm, sunflower, coconut and olive), water, essential oil (orange)

DSC_0078Tropical Ginger Lime
Spicy warm ginger matches prefect with the sweet tangy sent of lime. Organic Aloe helps gently soften while added Hibiscus flowers takes you out of the shower and on to a tropical isle. 
Ingredients: Saponified organic oils (palm, sunflower, coconut, olive, and aloe concentrate), water, essential Oil (ginger, lime, and hibiscus flower powder).

DSC_0083French Lavender
Dreamy French Lavendar will Calm and Relax, with added organic comfrey root that will soothe and hydrate your skin.
Ingredients: Saponified organic oils (safflower, sunflower, palm, and coconut), water, essential oils (lavender and lavandin), alkanet root, comfrey root, rosemary extract.

DSC_0081Cucumber Aloe Melon
Fresh cucumber with notes of juicy sweet melon and a subtle Aloe background, perfect reminder of spring and summer. While creamy Shea butter will enrich your dry skin.
Ingredients: Saponified organic oils (olive, coconut, palm, sunflower and shea butter), water, aloe concentrate, fragrance, woad powder

Care instructions are pretty simple – let it dry in between uses. I quickly noticed that leaving it sitting in water made for mushy soap on the next use. I really can’t say anything bad about these bars but I do have one concern in regards to their ingredients lists. It does interest me on what they use in the “fragrance” for the Cucumber Aloe Melon soap. If you’re well informed about this generic word in mainstream beauty products then you know it’s a mask for “toxic concoction to make the product smell good”. Reading on the company’s philosophy, I can only assume (and hope) that it’s derived from natural ingredients instead of synthetic.

Overall, I am loving these soaps. They truly work as described and I couldn’t be happier. The lather is plenty and not over-drying to the skin one bit. It’s quite moisturizing and I had the pleasure of actually forgoing body lotion in public because of it! For me that’s incredible. I have really dry skin (think desert cracking landscape) on my legs because I’m a lazy human being and don’t bother to put lotion on. Terrible, I know. The only time I apply body lotion is if I’m exposing body parts but this soap has been generously moisturizing my legs to the point that I can skip the lotion if I’m just quickly running to the store. Public embarrassment gone!

As I’ve mentioned before, the smell on each bar is wonderfully potent and fills my bathroom with every shower. Thankfully it doesn’t translate onto the skin so heavily but leaves a nice light scent. A single bar lasts me a decent amount of time – about 2.5 months of regular use. My favorite scent? It probably has to be the Tropical Ginger Lime. Favorite bar? I love the Cucumber Aloe Melon. It’s smells fresh, light, and moisturizes perfectly.

First time hearing about these soaps then check them out on Etsy or on their Official Website

3 Comments

  1. OMG! Great minds think alike! I just wrote about Etsy too 🙂 Love this post. The soaps look fabulous. Each shop on Etsy that I’ve ordered from shows such care for the customer. That personal attention and connection really do make a difference. (PS Following your blog now. I’m not sure why I wasn’t already!!) xoxo

  2. Hi! I hope you don’t mind, but your blog is great, so I put it on the list for a Liebster Award. You can find all the details in the post on my blog (participation is optional, but in case you are interested!). Have a good Friday 🙂

  3. Great post! I love hand-crafted soaps as well. It makes the experience very relaxing, especially knowing that the ingredients are natural. (:

Leave a Reply

