Beauty, Skincare Ritual
Comments 5

Skincare Ritual | Summer 2013

Well, everyone, September is officially here! We are now three-quarters through the year and summer is over for most people. However in Southern California, summer doesn’t truly end for us probably until October. We’ve been experiencing quite a mild summer in San Diego compared to last until recently. Temperatures that were once in the mid 70’s are now reaching towards the mid 80’s. I know, we’re spoiled but that doesn’t mean it still isn’t hot!

As the seasons change, your skincare routine should change accordingly. There are many out there that can use the same products year-round and not be affected by the seasonal change. Unfortunately, for me, my skin is quite sensitive to change and I must pay close attention to what my skin is telling me. As a green beauty blogger, it’s my duty to try different types of products. With all the products that I’ve been testing out, here’s what I’ve been using to help keep my face fresh this season.

MORNING

SS2013_02I begin each day with rinsing my face with water.  Sure, you can use just regular tap water but what’s the fun in that? I mist Avène Thermal Spring Water all over and take in deep breaths to help me relax and mentally prepare for the day ahead. Next, I moisturize my face with one pump of Tata Harper Repairative Moisturizer. In addition, I squirt a pea-size amount of 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream to cover the eye area. Finally, I protect my face with some SPF before I brave the day with Coola Mineral Face SPF 20 Rose Essence Tint.

Altogether, this routine takes me no more than 10 minutes to complete. I usually let my face and eye moisturizers sink in before I apply SPF. As my face produces more oil in the summer, due to the heat, my skin needs something lightweight. This routine is as simple and lightweight as it can get. As you probably noticed, I forgo the toner step. I’m not against toners but it is not a necessary step for me. The thermal water provides ample hydration. And now that it’s getting hotter, an all over mist of this helps cool my face down anytime during the day. If you haven’t read my review on the Tata Harper moisturizer then do so here. I absolutely love it’s lightweight but luxuriant moisture. Lastly, this Coola product has helping out tremendously with keeping my oiliness at bay because it’s mattifying. As directed, I apply this on approximately 15 minutes before sun exposure.

NIGHT

SS2013_05I begin my nightly routine with removing any makeup with organic coconut oil. I haven’t really been wearing any makeup but the Coola sunscreen does has tint to it and so it’s important to have that removed. Then I make a fresh mixture of face wash by combining manuka honey with One Love Organics Microderma Scrub. I rinse that off with water and then moisturize. The same as my daytime routine, I use Tata Harper Repairative Moisturizer for my face and then apply a pea-size amount of 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Cream to the eye area. Lastly, I supplement my moisturizer with a night serum like Yüli Cell Perfecto PM Corrective Serum by patting it onto the face.

This routine takes a little more time and care but is completely necessary. Removing your makeup before using any sort of skincare products is essential and I won’t waste your reading time with obvious reasons. This time I do use a face wash in which my review can be read here. After a long day of work, exercise, and sun exposure, my face needs a proper cleanse and this gives me just that without stripping the essential oils. My last step, the serum, is probably one of the most important steps for me. This particular product is targeted to correct discoloration, hyperpigmentation, and heal acne scars.

Do you use any of these products?

5 Comments

  1. Great post! I also use 100% Pure Organic Coffee Bean Caffeine Eye Cream, usually at night and though I can’t say much about improving dark circles (for now), it is moisturizing and cooling.
    Curious to know, what do you use to remove eye makeup ? I’m trying to find a natural product that’s gentle enough to remove eye makeup as I have very sensitive eyes…

    • Thank you so much! It’s slowly but surely improving my dark under eyes but it took several, several weeks. I have yet to see much change in my under eye puff. I use the coconut oil for all makeup removal, including the eye area. I used to use olive oil but the coconut oil has been much more gentle on my eye.

      • I’ve been wanting to try coconut oil since I’ve heard so many good things about it. I’ll have to look into it, thanks for the recommendation! 🙂

  2. Tiffany says

    I love that routine, it’s so ‘organic’ and beautiful! I’ve been seeing Yuli’s Cell Perfecto PM popping up everywhere recently. I just started using it and notice some brightening, I see that you apply it by patting it on after moisturizer, does the serum lose effectiveness? They advised me to gently massage it into skin before applying moisturizer so I was just wondering.

    • Thank you for checking out my post, Tiffany! I pat it all over but then gently smooth it out to make sure I covered everything. I have massaged it in before but don’t see much difference in my skin whether I pat or massage it. Facial skin is very delicate so I believe that as long as it’s done in a gentle manner then the products should work all the same.

Leave a Reply

