Beauty, Product reviews, Skincare
Comment 1

One Love Organics | Brand New Day

How would you feel if you could start everyday with something called Brand New Day? That name alone makes me feel happy! This treasure trove of natural ingredients from One Love Organics is so versatile when it comes to skincare. A scrub and masque in one, Brand New Day can be simply mixed with water or added to a daily face wash. This arrived in my sample kit from Beauty Sage and, to be honest, I wasn’t very interested in this particular product (I originally ordered it for the BB cream and Vitamin C serum). When I looked more into it, I realized I could mix it in with my face wash, honey, to make it exfoliating.

$12 per jar (50 mL/0.5 oz)

DSC_0027

Ingredients: Organic Zea Mays (Corn) Starch,Organic Pisum Sativum (Sweet Pea) Flour, Sodium Cocoyl Glycinate, Organic Ananas Comosus (pineapple) fruit extract, Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate, proprietary natural and organic fragrance compounds

This has been a wonderful addition to my skincare ritual. It gives me the right amount of exfoliation without irritating or rubbing me raw. Combining this scrub with honey has made face washing much more fun for me with a heavenly sweet smell. Almost good enough to eat (but I don’t suggest it)! And one of the best parts is knowing that if some incidentally gets into my mouth then I won’t be poisoning my body with nasty chemicals. The minimal amount of ingredients makes this list easy to read and understand with only two ingredients¹² unfamiliar [to me]. What the ‘proprietary natural and organic fragrance compounds’ are? I have no clue but I trust it truly is a concoction of organic compounds.

¹sodium cocoyl glycinate = sodium salts; skin conditioning agent
²sodium myristoyl glutamate = sodium salt of glutamic acid; cleansing agent
(info courtesy of EWG’s Skin Deep Database)

DSC_0031As directed, I mix about ½ – 1 teaspoon of scrub with the honey. I gently massage my face and let the mixture sit for another minute (or two) before rinsing with lukewarm water. I have yet to use it as a mask only because I have other mask products that need to be used up. But here are a few mask suggestions directly from the OLO’s website…

FOR A MASQUE: In your hand or a small bowl, mix 1 teaspoon of Brand New Day with 2 teaspoons of water for a luxurious, tightening masque. For an extra treat, mix with 2 teaspoons of plain Greek yogurt for a clarifying masque OR fresh, raw honey for a hydrating masque. Leave for 10-15 minutes. Remove with warm water.

New Image

The price point for the smaller (½ oz) jar really makes this affordable. I bought mine in March and still have some to use for another 2 months. I feel that the reason mine has lasted me so long is because I use it only once a day, 6 days a week. The larger (2 oz) jar may be more expensive ($39) but would last you foooorever. With more product, you’d be able to use it as a body scrub before or during a shower.

If you can’t tell by now, I love love love Brand New Day. It’s effective yet gentle and cheap. Highly recommend and definitely plan to repurchase as long as I’m using honey as a face wash. This has really been a gateway product for me into One Love Organics and am eager to use more of their products in the future. If you’ve used OLO, please comment below! I would love to hear from you!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Skincare Routine | Summer 2013 | The Wanderlusting Beauty

Leave a Reply

