Beauty, Product reviews, Skincare
Comments 2

REN Clean Skincare | Bio Retinoid Anti-Ageing Concentrate

A synergistic complex of pure, potent, 100% nature derived Vitamin A, Pro Vitamin A and Retinoid Analogue that combats the appearance of wrinkles, imperfections and age spots leaving the complexion visibly younger, smoother and brighter without the irritating effects of synthetic Retinol.

If you know anything about retinoids then you know the magical powers it can  have on skin. Retinoid is a chemical compound related to vitamin A. In today’s medicine, it is prescribed generally by dermatologists and applied topically or ingested (pill) for those with moderate to severe acne. Its also best known for smoothing out wrinkles, fading age spots, and giving a rosy complexion, among other things. Anyways, the ingredients list looked too enticing for me to not give this serum a try.

$60 per bottle

REN Skincare 1

First impressions, I liked the packaging. The whole line is very clean and modern and so this was no different. I was very impressed and absolutely loved that the product is packaged in a glass bottle with a glass dropper. It holds a very light, fresh, floral scent and thankfully their “parfum” is 100% natural. For an oil/serum, it feels rather thick. That’s not necessarily a bad thing, just different. However, the thickness does translate onto my skin. When I press (as directed) onto my face, neck, and decollete it feels a little tacky and I usually have to wait a while for the product to totally sink into my skin before applying a balm.  Overall and until recently, I was having mixed feelings about this serum. In the beginning it was doing a wonderful job of fading my old acne spots but then it stopped after a while. 

Ingredients: Rosa Rubiginosa Seed Oil, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Gossypium Harbaceum (Cotton) Seed Oil, Bidens Pilosa Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract, Parfum (Fragrance), Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Tocopherol, Linalool.
*100% Natural Fragrance Parfum 100% Naturel

Ren Skincare 2

Would I purchase this again? Perhaps. I don’t hate it but I’m already itching to try something new.  Because I have combination skin (dry cheeks and an oily T-zone), I don’t apply this in the morning for fear that my T-zone will look less luminous and more greasy. So I apply this only at night after my face lotion. I am determined to finish this product out; however, my biggest turn off is the inconsistency. Since using a sample of Tata Harper’s repairative moisturizer, it started magically working again. My face is luminous from the inside out,  evenly toned, and my old acne scars are fading once more. It works…then it really doesn’t…then it works again but with a different moisturizer? (Le sigh) Oh well, it doesn’t clog my pores and it does work (when it wants to) so I’m somewhat content.

pic 048

What, if any, products from REN have worked for you?

2 Comments

  1. Inga says

    What a great post (and blog), so happy I stumbled upon it. I bought the REN “Fab 4” kit at Sephora (http://www.sephora.com/the-fab-4-kit-P377915) and tried a sample of this serum. I had the same experience as you described and did not buy the full size product. The kit contained a great scrub (Micro Polish cleanser) and I will buy the full sized product. The other items included, were a miss for me – the Hydra Calm Day cream is a bit too oily after application, the Cleansing Balm left my skin feeling a bit greasier than normal (it’s a thick cream used to cleanse your face) and I’m a bit worried about trying the Radiance Renewal Mask because I have slightly sensitive/combination skin. If you have tried it, would love to hear your thoughts on it!

    • Hi Inga! Thank you so much for your thoughts! I haven’t tried other REN products but wouldn’t mind trying out those items you just listed. I’ve used about a quarter of the serum now and have seen better results while using Tata Harper’s face lotion. How is the mask working for you now? I absolutely love masks and am always on the look out for new ones to try.

Leave a Reply

