Uncategorized
Comments 5

Beauty Philosophy

Welcome to my first official post! There were so many different ways that I wanted to start this blog. But in the end I thought no better way than to start with a ‘foundation’ type of post. One to sort of explain how my views on skincare, green beauty, and worldly influences. I’d like to think that as I become older I grow wiser. Learning from daily mistakes and improving myself is essential in my personal growth. So here are a few beauty rules that I try to abide by. What are some of your beauty philosophies?


You are imperfect; inevitably flawed. And you are beautiful.
                                                                   -Amy Bloom


Acceptance

Knowing and accepting your skin are two completely different things. I’ve known my skin type for a long time. I tried to believe that my body and skin would eventually even out and I would have perfect skin just like my mother when she was my age. However, it turns out that I inherited my father’s skin – riddled with moles, skin tags, oily, etc. Once I accepted this fact I started to really pay attention to what my skin was telling me. Accepting my flaws gave me much more confidence in my individual beauty.

Simplicity

Born and raised in the American culture does have its perks but we often have the mentality of having the best and having it all. As I travel more often and meet more people, I realize that a simple life is much more enjoyable than one filled with junk. So on that note, why should my skincare be filled with a bunch of junk as well? Simple living and simple products is the direction I’m headed for in my life.

Ethnicity

As I was switching over to cleaner cosmetics and skincare, not everything I used worked so well for my skin. What did seem to work well were products originating  and/or ingredients from Asia/Australia/Pacific Islands. That made sense since my parents emigrated from the Philippines to the USA before I was born. I was raised in Arizona’s hot desert so my skin took a beating from the scorching hot summer and mildly cool, dry winters. However, I noticed while living in North Carolina for four years that my skin fared very well in the humidity. Understanding this has helped me refine my search for new skincare products.

Education

I’m a firm believer in learning something new everyday. My green beauty journey all started when I read No More Dirty Looks by Siobhan O’Connor and Alexandra Sprunt and Not Just A Pretty Face: The Ugly Side of the Beauty Industry by Stacy Malkan. These two books changed my whole outlook on the beauty industry. I believe its a wonderful thing to want to change to green beauty but don’t do it blindly. Educate yourself!

Consistency

This is probably the most important philosophy but the one I follow the least. I’m trying to get better at that – really, I am! Like many women out there, I’m continuously on the search for the next best product promising to help my face maintain it’s youth as I age. Switching from one product to another in a matter of months can do more harm than good. If you’ve found a product that works brilliantly on your skin then why change it? Like our bodies, I believe that our skin needs positive consistency in order to age gracefully.   

5 Comments

  1. Love this post. Super great beauty tips and advice.. And so true.
    xx- Jamie @ Makeuplifelove

  2. Pingback: 100% Pure | Jasmine Green Tea Moisturizer | The Wanderlusting Beauty

  3. Nice blog and this post, too! I agree with your thoughts about this topic. And thanks for following my blog! Best, Dasha

Leave a Reply

